STEMY Logo.png

The Excellence in STEM Awards, aka the STEMYS, are designed to celebrate STEM education in New Mexico. They recognize students, teachers, schools, businesses and others who demonstrate an extraordinary commitment to, and advocacy of, STEM learning. 

Winners will be honored at a ceremony at the Albuquerque Convention Center on Friday, February 22, 2019. Individual winners will receive scholarships.    

2019 Honorees:

Student K-8

Winner:                      Isabella Lundhal (Desert Ridge Middle School, Albuquerque) tie

                                    Grant Staten (Desert Ridge Middle School, Albuquerque) tie


Student 9-12

Winner:                       Sky Harper (Navajo Prep, Farmington)

Honorable Mention:   Jared Cannon (Homeschool, Albuquerque)

Honorable Mention:   Russell "Rusty" Ludwigsen (APS Early College Academy, Albuquerque)


Elementary Teacher

Winner:                       Cecilia Lujan-Pincomb (Monte Vista, Las Cruces)

Honorable Mention:   Christy Snell (E.G. Ross, Albuquerque)

Honorable Mention:   Sherry Meagher (Apache, Albuquerque)


Middle School Teacher

Winner:                       Ashley Stoud (Berrendo, Roswell)

Honorable Mention:   Charles Gallegos (Lynn, Los Cruces)

Honorable Mention:   Cheryl Kerby (Ask Academy, Rio Rancho)


High School Teacher

Winner:                       Alan Daugherty (Melrose)

Honorable Mention:   Mike Kingery (Arrowhead Park Early College HS, Las Cruces)

Honorable Mention:   Nathanial Raynor (Mescalero Apache Schools)


School K-8

Winner:                       St. Mary’s Catholic School (Belen)

School 9-12

Winner:                       Los Alamos High School

Higher Ed Program:

Winner:                       Northern New Mexico College


Winner:                       Dr. Shelly Gruenig


Winner:                       AAUW Tech Trek NM

Honorable Mention:   Open Source Kids

Honorable Mention    Mesa Pietra Petroglyph Project



Winner:                       Navajo Transitional Energy Company


Lifetime Achievement:          Len Duda

For questions regarding the New Mexico Excellence in STEM Awards email us at