Air Force Research Laboratory Names New Space Vehicles Director

KIRTLAND AFB-Air Force Research Laboratory has named Col. Russell Teehan as the new director of its Space Vehicles Directorate located on Kirtland Air Force Base. An assumption of command ceremony took place Thursday, June 2 presiding by Maj. Gen. Robert McMurry, Commander of AFRL. 

AFRL’s Space Vehicles Directorate is charged with developing, testing and transitioning space technologies for the U.S. Air Force. Primary mission areas include: space-based intelligence, surveillance and reconnaissance, space situational awareness, space communications, position navigation and timing and defensive space control.

Teehan most recently served as Chief of the Space Control Branch of the Strategic, Space, and Intelligence Office within the Undersecretary of Defense for Acquisition, Technology and Logistics. His 20 year plus Air Force career has included a variety of assignments including basic weapons research at AFRL New Mexico early on in his career.

Teehan holds a BS in Physics from the United States Air Force Academy, an MS in Applied Physics from Georgia Institute of Technology, a PhD in Optical Sciences from the University of New Mexico, an MS in Military Arts and Sciences from Air Command and Staff College and an MS in National Resource Strategy from The Eisenhower School, National Defense University.